Storage : Volumes : Configuring volumes : Deleting Snapshot copies
Deleting Snapshot copies
You can delete a Snapshot copy to conserve space or free disk space, or you can delete the Snapshot copy if it is no longer required. If you want to delete a Snapshot copy that is busy or locked, then you have to release the Snapshot copy from the application that is using it.
About this task
•
You cannot delete the base Snapshot copy in a parent volume if a FlexClone volume is using that Snapshot copy.
The base Snapshot copy is the Snapshot copy that is used to create the FlexClone volume, and always displays the status "busy" and Application Dependency as "busy,vclone" in the parent volume.
•
You cannot delete locked a Snapshot copy that is used by a SnapMirror relationship.
The Snapshot copy is locked and is required for the next update.
For more information about deleting busy Snapshot copies, see the
Data ONTAP Data Protection Online Backup and Recovery Guide for 7-Mode
for your version of Data ONTAP.
Steps
1.
From the
Home
tab
, double-click the appropriate storage system.
2.
In the navigation pane,
click
Storage
>
Volumes
.
3.
Select the appropriate volume that contains the Snapshot copy you want to delete.
4.
Click
Snapshot Copies
in the lower pane of the
Volumes
window
.
5.
In the lower window pane, select the Snapshot copy that you want to delete.
6.
Click
Delete
.
7.
Select the confirmation check box and click
Delete
.
Related reference
Volumes window
Was this topic helpful? Send
comments
to NetApp.